Degree Programs

The study of geosciences in Munich is structured in form of a bachelor's and several master's degree programs:

  • Bachelor's degree of Geosciences, a joint degree program of the Technical University of Munich (TUM) and Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) (Flyer)
  • Six master's degree programs, degree programs of the Technical University of Munich(TUM), Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität (LMU) as well as Fiedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen (FAU)

Starting in the second year of study, the Bachelor's degree of Geosciences offers the possibility to choose between the specializations geology, mineralogy or geophysics. The following consecutive Master's programs are offered to match the respective specializations in the bachelor's degree: Bachelor's degree of Geoscience

  • Master's degree of Ingenieur- & Hydrogeologie (TUM, Flyer)
  • Master's degree of GeoThermie/GeoEnergie (TUM/FAU Erlangen, Flyer)
  • Master's degree of Geology (LMU)
  • Master's degree of Geomaterialien & Geochemie (LMU)
  • Master's degree of Geophysics (LMU)
  • Master's degree of Geobiologie & Paläobiologie (LMU)

Bachelor's Degree of Geosciences (in German)

Joint bachelor's degree of the TUM and LMU

Information for students (M.Sc. Engineering Geology and Hydrogeology)

Change of admission requirements (English certificate) at TUM 

Which English certificates are accepted?

All recognized language certificates at TUM are listed here.

TUM students can alternatively acquire the English certificate through completion of certain English courses at the TUM Language Center, in which only courses marked with "Gateway to English Master's" "are accepted.